Aerial view of Edmonton neighbourhoods with downtown and the North Saskatchewan River in the distance

Installer Directory

Best Solar Installers in Edmonton, AB (2026)

Six Edmonton-area solar companies compared on electricians, warranties, reviews and track record, plus what to know about permits, EPCOR hookup, CEIP financing and Alberta’s new panel recycling fee.

9 min read · September 18, 2026

Finding the best solar installers in Edmonton comes down to a few checks: who does the electrical work, what the warranty covers, and how the company handles City permits and the EPCOR hookup. This 2026 guide compares six Edmonton-area companies from the SolarWeb Installer Directory, explains the local approval process, and covers the financing and fees that affect your budget, including Alberta’s new $14 per panel recycling fee that starts October 1, 2026.

Solar in Edmonton: What to Know Before You Install

Solar resource: Edmonton has more solar potential than most Canadians expect. A Canada Energy Regulator analysis rated Edmonton’s photovoltaic potential at 6.50, ahead of Toronto (5.94) and Vancouver (5.21).

Winter production: Output drops sharply in winter because days are short and snow can cover panels. Most of a system’s annual production comes between spring and early fall, so judge any savings estimate on a full year, not a December bill.

Your wires owner: Alberta’s electricity market is deregulated. You buy power from a retailer you choose, while the local distribution company connects your system. In most of Edmonton that is EPCOR, which says you can confirm the wires owner for your address using the Site ID on your utility bill.

City permits: The City of Edmonton requires permits for rooftop solar. For an existing house, the application needs a site-specific review by an Alberta-licensed structural engineer confirming the roof can carry the added load, along with an electrical permit.

Utility interconnection: EPCOR’s micro-generation process asks for your City electrical permit, a single line diagram and system drawings. Systems of 20 kW or larger should contact EPCOR before design starts. After commissioning, your retailer receives your meter readings, and you confirm your micro-generator status with them.

System size: According to EPCOR, annual generation is not permitted to exceed 100% of your annual consumption under Alberta Utilities Commission rules, so have your last 12 months of power bills ready for any quote.

Best Solar Installers in Edmonton (2026)

The six companies below are listed alphabetically. The order is not a ranking. Google ratings are from our March 2026 directory check and may have changed since, so check current reviews before you sign.

InstallerBaseGoogle rating (March 2026 check)Main services
Evalence RenewablesCalgary and Edmonton5.0 (153 reviews)Residential solar, EV chargers, batteries
Great Canadian SolarEdmonton4.9 (114 reviews)Utility-scale, commercial, residential
GreenAmp Solar & EnergyNisku5.0 (56 reviews)Residential, farm and business solar, batteries
Gridworks Energy GroupEdmonton4.7 (37 reviews)Residential, commercial, EV chargers, training
Kuby Renewable EnergyEdmonton4.8 (193 reviews)Residential, commercial, EV charging, storage
Zeno RenewablesEdmonton4.8 (270 reviews)Residential, commercial, batteries, EV chargers

Evalence Renewables

  • Years in Business: Not stated on its website
  • Service Area: Offices in Calgary and Edmonton, serving communities across Alberta
  • Specialties: Residential solar, home and commercial EV chargers, battery storage, snow guards and critter guards, electrical service upgrades
  • Notable: The company says it has installed more than 150 solar systems totalling 1,500 kW, plus more than 200 EV chargers.
  • Customer Reviews: 5.0 on Google from 153 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: evalence.ca

Great Canadian Solar

  • Years in Business: In operation since 2009
  • Service Area: Based in Edmonton, working across western Canada
  • Specialties: Utility-scale, large commercial and residential solar, plus operations and maintenance
  • Notable: The company reports more than 1,000 projects and more than 100 MW installed, including a 6.5 MW system at Shell’s Scotford facility.
  • Customer Reviews: 4.9 on Google from 114 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: greatcanadiansolar.com

GreenAmp Solar & Energy

  • Years in Business: Not stated on its website
  • Certifications: The company says installations are done by Red Seal electricians and apprentices, supervised by a Master Electrician.
  • Service Area: Head office in Nisku, installing in Edmonton, Sherwood Park, St. Albert, Beaumont and across Alberta
  • Specialties: Home, farm and business solar, battery storage, EV charging
  • Notable: Its website says it uses an in-house team rather than outsourcing installs, and does not use high-pressure sales tactics. Its warranty page lists a 10-year standard workmanship warranty with an optional 25-year extension and a production guarantee.
  • Customer Reviews: 5.0 on Google from 56 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: greenampsolar.com

Gridworks Energy Group

  • Years in Business: More than 20 years (its website cites both 1998 and 2000 as start dates)
  • Certifications: Certified electrical contractor, COR certified, WCB covered
  • Service Area: Based in Edmonton, serving Alberta and beyond
  • Specialties: Residential and commercial solar, an Indigenous solar program, EV charging, solar installer training courses
  • Notable: 100% Indigenous owned and operated. The company posts a public notice that it does not sell door to door.
  • Customer Reviews: 4.7 on Google from 37 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: gridworksenergy.com

Kuby Renewable Energy

  • Years in Business: Founded in 2015
  • Certifications: The company says installs are done by an in-house team of certified electricians, with professional engineers on staff.
  • Service Area: Offices in Edmonton, Calgary, Lethbridge and Kamloops, BC
  • Specialties: Residential and commercial solar, EV charging, energy storage, engineering
  • Notable: The company reports more than 6,000 solar installations.
  • Customer Reviews: 4.8 on Google from 193 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: kuby.ca

Zeno Renewables

  • Years in Business: More than 10 years, according to the company
  • Service Area: Offices in Edmonton, Calgary, Lethbridge and Mississauga, ON
  • Specialties: Residential and commercial solar, battery storage, EV chargers
  • Notable: The company reports more than 5,000 installations and offers a lifetime craftsmanship and labour warranty plus a price match on comparable quotes. Local projects include the University of Alberta Student Service Centre.
  • Customer Reviews: 4.8 on Google from 270 reviews (as of our March 2026 check)
  • Website: livezeno.com

How to Choose a Solar Installer in Edmonton

Snow load and hail. Edmonton roofs carry heavy snow, and summer storms can bring hail. Ask for the structural engineer’s review the City requires, the hail rating of the panels quoted, and how the racking and wiring are protected.

Who does the electrical work. Ask whether Red Seal electricians install your system, whether a Master Electrician supervises, and whether any part of the job goes to subcontractors. Get the answer in writing.

Warranties. Separate the manufacturer warranties on panels and inverters from the installer’s workmanship warranty. Among the companies above that publish workmanship terms, they range from 10 years to lifetime. Compare length, what is covered and whether it transfers to a buyer.

Sales approach. Be cautious with door-to-door pitches and third-party lead sellers. Gridworks publicly warns that people have used its name at the door, so confirm you are dealing with the company directly.

Paying for Solar in Edmonton: CEIP, Net Billing and the New Fee

City of Edmonton CEIP. The Clean Energy Improvement Program lets homeowners finance $3,000 to $50,000 of upgrades through their property tax bill at a fixed 6.00% rate for the current tranche, over up to 20 years. Residential projects generally need at least three upgrades and an EnerGuide evaluation, and the City says the program is nearing capacity, with new pre-qualifications placed on a waitlist. Our Edmonton CEIP guide explains how the financing works.

Micro-generation credits. Under the Micro-generation Regulation, systems under 150 kW are credited monthly for power sent to the grid at their retail rate, and owners do not pay the ordinary costs of interconnection and metering. The credit rate is agreed with your retailer, not set by the province. See our Alberta solar guide for incentives and rate plans.

The $14 recycling fee. Starting October 1, 2026, the Alberta Recycling Management Authority applies a $14 environmental fee to each new solar panel of 1 square metre or larger. The province estimates a typical household system at 20 panels, CBC News reported, which works out to about $280 per home (our estimate). Ask whether your quote includes it.

Key Takeaway

Before you sign with any Edmonton installer, get in writing who does the electrical work, how long the workmanship warranty lasts, and whether permits, the EPCOR application and the $14 per panel recycling fee are included in the price.

How We Selected These Installers

Every company here is an Edmonton-area entry in the SolarWeb Installer Directory. We checked that each has an active website, a Google rating of at least 4.0 from at least five reviews in our March 2026 check, residential solar services and a presence in the Edmonton region. Company claims about install counts and staff are attributed to the companies.

This directory is editorially curated and is not a paid listing. Companies are selected based on certifications, customer reviews, years in business, and verified project history. SolarWeb does not accept payment for inclusion. Last updated: September 2026.

How to Get the Best Solar Quote in Edmonton

  1. Get at least 3 quotes. Compare price per watt, equipment brands and warranty terms side by side.
  2. Share 12 months of bills. Installers need your annual use to size a system within the 100% limit.
  3. Ask about CEIP early. CEIP requires an EnerGuide evaluation and a qualified contractor, so check eligibility before you commit.
  4. Confirm the paperwork. Ask who files the City permits and the EPCOR application, and how long each step usually takes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do solar panels work in Edmonton winters?

Yes, but output is much lower in winter because of short days and snow cover. Most production happens from spring to early fall, which is also when most export credits are earned.

Do I need a permit for solar panels in Edmonton?

Yes. The City of Edmonton requires permits, including an electrical permit and, for existing houses, a structural engineer’s roof review. EPCOR also has to accept your micro-generation application before you can export power.

Can I finance solar through my property taxes in Edmonton?

Yes, through CEIP, at 6.00% fixed for the current tranche. Residential projects generally need at least three upgrades, and new pre-qualifications are currently waitlisted.

Do I pay EPCOR to connect my system?

Under Alberta’s Micro-generation Regulation, small micro-generators do not pay the ordinary and reasonable costs of interconnection and metering. Those costs are shared by all customers in the distribution area. Your installer still charges for its own work, including permits and paperwork.

Financing terms, fees, program eligibility and installer details referenced in this article are current as of September 2026 and subject to change. Verify details with the City of Edmonton, EPCOR, your electricity retailer and the installer before making financial decisions.

Get Your Free Solar Quote

Compare prices from Edmonton-area installers before you choose. Get Your Free Quotes

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top